Displaced

24362_593262819675_28408507_34330990_6070767_nThis unsure limbo that we call “adulthood” has caused me excessive anxiety. Throughout the past few months I have experienced worry about the future. I look to my friends for comfort, but they too have this feeling of unease. We ask the same questions: Should I go to grad school? What about income? Is this the right career path? What if I don’t want to do this the rest of my life?

 

The common theme of concern is “the rest of my life”. “The rest of my life” is quite a long period of time…in fact that is absolutely a cause for concern.

How can you make a decision regarding the life you will have 25 years from now? What if you feel like a completely different person by then?

Slowly, I am coming to terms with the fact that nothing is “for the rest of your life” if you do not want it to be. The anxiety is the fire necessary for progress. Whatever you are doing, you have a reason. Even if it were not exactly what you thought it would be, it is a stepping-stone to something greater. As long as you are doing something, anything, you are heading toward fulfilling your potential.   

Image

It is hard to avoid looking at the potential outcome instead of concentrating on the experience. You do not want to wake up one day and realize you never took the time to actually note what is going on around you. Overcome the anxiety and take life as it comes.

Leave a Reply

